Happy International Women’s Day!

On Wednesday, March 8, during Senior School TAG (Teacher Advisory Group), a session was facilitated by two student leaders from either the Social Justice 12 class, BC First Peoples 12 class, or the Feminism Club for International Women’s Day. The sessions included a Land Acknowledgement, an opportunity to hear from the YHS Poet laureates by watching a video, and viewing the documentary film Mary Two-Axe Early: I am Indian Again (2021) by Courtney Montour, followed by a discussion session led by student facilitators.

Here is Grade 12 student, Ruby, reciting her poem for International Women’s Day!

Meet the 2022-23 Annual Giving Committee

Annual Giving Committee Members 2022-23
Left to Right: Viola Zhu, Tracy Ji, Helen Shen, Jennifer Sirounis, Shannon Chung (co-chair), Monica Li

Every year, a dedicated group of volunteers partner with the Advancement team to help increase community participation in the Annual Giving Campaign.

The Annual Giving committee plays a key role in building energy and support for the campaign. Throughout the year they give their time to connect with our families and share information about the positive impact of donations to the school. Activities include taking part in phone-a-thons and volunteering at our annual YHS Day of Giving — this year taking place on May 25 (save the date!).

We are extremely grateful to our enthusiastic parent volunteers for supporting our goal of 100% participation and raising funds for important equipment, resources, and programming that benefits every York House student.

If you have yet to make a contribution to the Annual Giving Campaign, please consider supporting us online through yorkhouse.ca/donate — every gift makes a difference! If you have already made a donation this year — thank you for your generosity!

Are you interested in joining the Annual Giving Committee? Questions about the Annual Giving Campaign? Please reach out to Daphne Ho, Annual Giving & Donor Relations Officer, at [email protected].

Annual Giving Committee Members:

Behnaz Alijani, Ed Barnes, Shannon Chung (co-chair), Tommy He, Tracy Ji, Monica Li, Lynette Ng, Dean O’Leary, Matthew Philips, Jasmine Sethi, Helen Shen, Phoenix Shih (co-chair), Jennifer Sirounis, Mandy Wang,  Alicia Winter, Danielle Wu, Yoga Yu, Sabrina Zhang, Viola Zhu, and Zena Zou.

Give Today