Celebration of our 2021 Alumnae Special Achievers

The YHS Alumnae Special Achiever Award celebration took place virtually on May 7th. Assistant Head of School, Kara McDonald and President of the Alumnae Association, Devon Taylor ‘02 hosted the Zoom gathering with the 2021 Alumnae Special Achievers, Dr. Camilla Zimmermann ‘84, Dr. Yvette Lu ‘96, Dr. Alya Kamani ‘01.  These alumnae were selected by our YHS Alumnae Association for their incredible contributions to their community.

Every year, one special achiever nominee is selected for this esteemed award but in the 2021 nomination process, the Alumnae Association felt strongly that by selecting these three nominees, all outstanding candidates in the medical field, the awards would also serve as a heartfelt tribute to all of our alumnae healthcare professionals on the front lines during the pandemic.

Moderated by Dr. Maria Chung, past Board Chair and parent to alumnae, Charlotte Munk ‘07, Eleanor Munk ‘09 and Sophie Munk ‘13, the conversation focused on the highs and lows of the pandemic, both from a professional and personal perspective. It was an inspiring, insightful morning and we are very thankful and grateful to our esteemed special achievers, Dr. Maria Chung and our hosts, Kara McDonald and Devon Taylor ‘02.

Dianne Whelan ‘83: 2017 YHS Alumnae Special Achiever

This year’s Special Achiever, Dianne Whelan ‘83, made a special effort to be at York House to speak at both Founders’ Day and Alumnae Day to celebrate our 85th Anniversary. In fact, a bush pilot extracted her from a remote area along the Trans Canada trail where, since July 2015, she has hiked, biked, snowshoed, […]

Read the full story on the Alumnae Blog: Dianne Whelan ‘83: 2017 YHS Alumnae Special Achiever — Alumnae News